Groups & Access Control

Why Groups

Groups make it easy for admins to manage access levels for members (and invited members). After having created groups, you can use groups to differentiate access to news updates and document folders.

As a default we suggest to make a group for shareholders, one for the board of directors, and another for potential investors. Use the shareholder group to send out invitations to general meetings, tax relevant information regarding the shares, information regarding rights of first refusal etc.

With a group for board members you can keep all board documents readily available, send out invitations to board meetings and keep the flow of information professional and secure.

You may create as many groups as you like, but we encourage you to keep a simple structure. Example of other groups you may consider include groups for holders of different share classes, a group for potential new investors or specific short-lived groups during financial processes (e.g. M&A’s).

Protip

Members do not need to belong to a group to access information, you can always share news and documents with all members of the investor portal. A common practice is to share general news updates and documents such as the pitch deck with all members.

How to use Groups

Navigate to Groups via the members page, by clicking on the “groups” button in the upper right corner of the page.

  • Use the green action button in the bottom right corner to create a new group.
  • Give the group a name and description.
  • Add contacts to the group by clicking the + in the top right corner of the group.
  • Select all the contacts you typically want to share the same information with.
  • You can edit and delete groups using the triple-dots button in the top right corner of each group.

General facts about groups

  • You can group both existing and invited members (those who have received an invite, but not yet signed up and accepted the invite).
  • Members/invited members can belong to more than one group.
  • Members doesn’t have to belong to a group (these members will only be able to find content shared with “all members”).
  • The “members” page and “groups” page is only accessible to admins, a regular member cannot see the “members” page or which group(s) she/he is part of.

If this article did not answer your questions, or you have any feedback, please get in touch at support@ownersroom.com